Deutsche Version Versión española
Jews in the Kraichgau
The most ancient documents mentioning Jews for the current territory of the Federal Land of Baden-Wuerttemberg date back to the first half of the 13th century. With regard to the Kraichgau, the first reference to a Jewish inhabitant occurred in 1288 in Bruchsal. In the 14th century, reports on Jewish inhabitants of the Kraichgau came about more frequently - among other places in Bretten, Sinsheim, Waibstadt, Neckarbischofsheim, Wiesloch and Eppingen. At that time, many towns and villages were promoted to the rank of chartered cities, and they appreciated the services of Jews as specialists in trade and monetary dealings.
First Persecutions and Expulsions in the Kraichgau
The first huge persecution wave which also affected the Jews in the Kraichgau occurred during the 1348-50 plague years. On the absurd accusation of having poisoned wells and springs, they were accused of being the authors of the plague. For the Kraichgau, first persecution campaigns are evidenced in this context in Bretten, Bruchsal, Waibstadt, Wiesloch and Eppingen. Thereafter, it was only towards the end of the 14th century that Jews are mentioned for the Kraichgau again, but as early as in 1390 they were driven out of all communities belonging to the Electoral Palatinate (Kurpfalz).
The period following the Thirty Years' War
Prior to the time after the Thirty Years' War, it was hardly possible for Jewish communities to establish in the Kraichgau any community which would have been likely to exist over any periods of time worth mentioning. Temporary admission of Jews was always followed by expulsion. Frequently, only solitary Jews were admitted, with their number being too small to develop any intact community structures at all. It was only after the Thirty Years' War that this situation changed gradually. The war led to an enormous decrease of the population so that labour was scarce. To re-enliven economy and trade, there was a general interest in having labour force settled, including Jews. And this is the reason why the immigration of Jews can be observed in many places of the Kraichgau during this period of time, with their number increasing stepwise.
The 19th Century
In the 19th century, clear changes in the legal situation of the Jews took place all over Germany, finally turning them into citizens with equal rights. In 1862 in the Grand Duchy of Baden, and in 1871 on a Germany-wide basis, an Emancipation Act was passed which removed all existing legal disadvantages. In the meantime the number of the Baden Jews had increased significantly. In 1808, the count was approximately 14,200. This figure corresponds to a population share of 1.5%. The Grand Duchy of Baden had anyway been a focus of Jewish settlement. In 1808, 8% of all German Jews were living in this dominion. Within Baden, an above-average number of Jews were living in the Kraichgau, in particular in the administrative district of Sinsheim where almost every town and village had a Jewish community of its own. The largest Jewish communities of the Kraichgau were found in Hoffenheim were 272 Jewish people lived in 1839, and in Neidenstein where the Jewish portion temporarily accounted for one third of the population.
The National Socialist Regime
Gurs: Tombstone of a Jew from Neidenstein
Gurs: Tombstone of a Jew from Neidenstein
The crimes committed by the National Socialists put an end to the Jewish life everywhere in Germany. As a result of the relatively high number of Jews living in the Kraichgau, the number of atrocities was comparably high, too. In the "Reichspogromnacht", "The Night of Broken Glass", riots and acts of violence occurred in every village and town. Numerous synagogues were destroyed or seriously damaged. The only houses of worship spared were those which had been sold to non-Jewish owners before.
On 20th October 1940 the 6500 Jews who were still living in Baden, Palatinate and in the Saarland were deported to the Gurs concentration camp in southern France. About 2000 of them died in the camp. In 1942, Gurs became the starting point for deportation to the extermination camps, in particular to Auschwitz.
The Time after World War II
Like everywhere else in Germany, the crimes of the National Socialists put an abrupt end to the Jewish life in the Kraichgau. In general, the surviving Jewish citizens did not return to their places in the Kraichgau. No Jewish community was created in any municipality of the Kraichgau. In this way, many centuries of development and tradition had irreversibly ended.
What has remained in the Kraichgau are cultural items, witnesses to the formerly blooming Jewish culture in his region and worth being protected and safeguarded out of a responsible and sensible dealing with history.
Copyright © 2009-2012 Jüdisches Kulturerbe im Kraichgau e.V.

English Version Versión española
Juden im Kraichgau
Für das Gebiet des heutigen Landes Baden-Württemberg stammen die ältesten Urkunden, die Juden erwähnen, aus der ersten Hälfte des 13. Jahrhunderts. Im Kraichgau findet erstmals im Jahr 1288 in Bruchsal ein jüdischer Einwohner Erwähnung. Im 14. Jahrhundert häufen sich die Meldungen über jüdische Bewohner des Kraichgaus - u.a. in Bretten, Sinsheim, Waibstadt, Neckarbischofsheim, Wiesloch und Eppingen. Zu dieser Zeit wurden viele Orte des Kraichgaus zu Städten erhoben, welche die Dienste von Juden als Fachleute für Handel und Geldwirtschaft gerne in Anspruch nahmen.
Erste Verfolgungen und Vertreibungen im Kraichgau
Eine erste Verfolgungswelle gewaltigen Ausmaßes, die auch die Juden des Kraichgaus in Mitleidenschaft zog, fand während der Pestjahre 1348-50 statt. Juden wurden unter dem absurden Vorwurf der Vergiftung von Brunnen und Quellen als Urheber der Seuche bezichtigt und vielerorts ermordet oder vertrieben. Für den Kraichgau lassen sich in diesem Zusammenhang in Bretten, Bruchsal, Waibstadt, Wiesloch und Eppingen Verfolgungen belegen. Nach diesen Schreckensjahren werden erst Ende des 14. Jahrhunderts wieder vereinzelt Juden im Kraichgau erwähnt, die aber schon im Jahr 1390 aus allen Gemeinden, die zur Kurpfalz gehörten, wieder vertrieben wurden.
Die Zeit nach dem Dreißigjährigen Krieg
Bis zur Zeit nach dem Dreißigjährigen Krieg konnten sich im Kraichgau kaum jüdische Gemeinden etablieren, die längere Zeit Bestand hatten. Der vorübergehenden Zulassung von Juden folgten immer wieder Ausweisungen. Oftmals wurden auch nur einzelne Juden aufgenommen, deren Zahl zu gering war, um intakte Gemeindestrukturen ausbilden zu können. Erst nach dem Dreißigjährigen Krieg änderte sich diese Situation allmählich. Der Krieg führte zu einem großen Bevölkerungsschwund, so dass ein Mangel an Arbeitskraft herrschte. Zur Belebung von Wirtschaft und Handel war man überall an der Ansiedlung von Arbeitskräften - auch von Juden - interessiert. Deshalb lässt sich gerade in dieser Zeit an vielen Orten des Kraichgaus eine Zuwanderung von Juden konstatieren, deren Zahl sich allmählich erhöhte.
Das 19. Jahrhundert
Im 19. Jahrhundert fanden überall in Deutschland deutliche Veränderungen in der Rechtslage der Juden statt, die sie schließlich zu gleichberechtigten Bürgen werden ließen. Im Großherzogtum Baden wurde im Jahr 1862, deutschlandweit im Jahr 1871 ein Emanzipationsgesetz erlassen, welche alle noch vorhandenen rechtlichen Benachteiligungen beseitigte. In der Zwischenzeit hatte sich die Zahl der badischen Juden deutlich erhöht. Sie belief sich im Jahr 1808 auf etwa 14.200 Personen. Dies entsprach einem Bevölkerungsanteil von 1,5 %. Das Großherzogtum Baden war ohnehin ein Siedlungsschwerpunkt von Juden. In diesem Herrschaftsgebiet lebten im Jahr 1808 8% aller deutschen Juden. Innerhalb Badens wohnten überdurchschnittlich viele Juden im Kraichgau - und insbesondere im Amtsbezirk Sinsheim, wo es in fast jedem Ort eine jüdische Gemeinde gab. Die größten jüdischen Gemeinden des Kraichgaus befanden sich in Hoffenheim, wo im Jahr 1839 227 jüdische Mitbürger lebten, und in Neidenstein, wo sich der Anteil der jüdischen Bevölkerung zeitweilig auf ein Drittel belief.
Die nationalsozialistische Herrschaft
Gurs: Grabstein eines deportierten Juden aus Neidenstein
Gurs: Grabstein eines Juden aus Neidenstein
Die Verbrechen der Nationalsozialisten führten überall in Deutschland zur Beendigung des jüdischen Lebens. Gravierend waren auf Grund der vergleichsweise hohen Zahl an Juden auch die Geschehnisse im Kraichgau. Während der Reichspogromnacht kam es an jedem Ort zu Ausschreitungen und Gewalttaten. Zahlreiche Synagogen wurden zerstört oder schwer beschädigt. Verschont blieben nur Gotteshäuser, die zuvor an nichtjüdische Eigentümer verkauft worden waren.
Am 22. Oktober 1940 wurden die 6.500 noch in Baden, in der Pfalz und im Saarland lebenden Juden ins südfranzösische Konzentrationslager Gurs deportiert. Von ihnen starben etwa 2.000 Menschen im Lager. Im Jahr 1942 setzen von dort aus die Deportationen in die Vernichtungslager - vor allem nach Auschwitz - ein.
Die Zeit nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg
Mit den Verbrechen der Nationalsozialisten fand im Kraichgau - wie überall in Deutschland - jüdisches Leben ein abruptes Ende. Nach dem Ende des Zweiten Weltkriegs kehrten überlebende jüdische Mitbürger in aller Regel nicht in ihre Heimatgemeinden im Kraichgau zurück. In keinem Ort des Kraichgaus entstand erneut eine jüdische Gemeinde. Eine Entwicklung und Tradition, die viele Jahrhunderte umfasste, war damit unwiederbringlich beendet.
Übrig geblieben sind im Kraichgau Kulturgüter, die von der einst blühenden jüdischen Kultur in dieser Region zeugen, und die es auf Grund eines verantwortlichen und angemessenen Umgangs mit der Geschichte zu schützen und zu bewahren gilt.
Copyright © 2009-2012 Jüdisches Kulturerbe im Kraichgau e.V.